Mexican Coke

Image

Mexican Coke

UrbanDictionary.com defines a “bodega” as: A hispanic/spanish/latin mini-mart, kind of like a 7-11, but usually smaller and more like a liquor store atmosphere. Commonly used term on the east coast, especially in the New York City region, where you will find many of these. The word came from the actual spanish word for “grocery store” – la bodega.

You can find some really cool shit in bodegas, but I love them for their Mexican Coke. (Get you nose out of the gutter! I mean the drink, not the drug!) The difference between Mexican Coke and American Coke is sugar. Mexican coke uses only pure sugar while American coke uses a whole bunch of chemicals that can clean a car engine–I’m not kidding. American Coke can clean a car engine to a sparkling shine.

The other thing I love about Mexican Coke is that it only comes in those cool, retro glass bottles. And no endorsements! I know it’s 7:30 and I should probably be having a cup of tea after my long chemo day, but this Mexican Coke is icy and delicious and I shall drink it and stay up past 9:30 for a change.

Viva Coca-Cola!

2 thoughts on “Mexican Coke

Thoughts??

