Sean Smithson

I “met” Sean shortly after starting this blog just over a year ago. He was one of my first followers and we hit it off immediately. When I made a post regarding my confusion setting up my WordPress page, Sean took the time to write me a lengthy and detailed e-mail answering EVERY technical question I had. I’ve since told him that he should turn that e-mail into a post for new bloggers.

In the year that I’ve “known” Sean, he has been a constant supporter on my blog and via e-mail. During long absences, I would open my e-mail and always find a “hey, how are you? Where have you been? Are you ok?” message. I truly believe that this outreach comes from his heart and not his “wanker” as we live in different countries and there is no possible way he can hit that overseas. He also “likes” every single one of my posts, even when they are boring or generally suck. Sometimes, he e-mails me directly in response to one of my posts and they are always kind, encouraging and thoughtful.

So, when I ran downstairs to get the mail last night, I was thrilled to see that I received my very own copy of How to Lose a Girl in 10 ways. I tore open the package and just held the book in my hands for a while. Somehow, it made me feel like Sean was right here with me in NYC instead of way over there in London.

I have read all of the posts that Sean turned into his first book, but reading them from a page–a real book– made them seen even funnier, smarter and more special than they are on a computer screen.

So Sean, congratulations on your new book and thank you for being there for me throughout this past year. We’ve never met in person, but I feel as if I know you and I’m sure that the day will come when we do meet in real life.

And I’m looking forward to that day.

One thought on “Sean Smithson

Thoughts??

